Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Visiting Scholars

MITRE provides funding to host visiting scholars on a short-term or long-term basis to engage with peers on campus, begin or continue joint research with U-M faculty, present public lectures, and teach graduate and undergraduate students.  These visits are often coordinated with one or more of our regular seminar series.

Hal Varian gave the 2016 Woytinsky Lecture entitled, "Google Tools for Data." The lecture was co-sponsored by MITRE. Varian is the Chief Economist at Google and was previously a professor and interim chair in the Department of Economics at the University of Michigan.

Our Fall 2014 Woytinsky Lecture, co-sponsored by MITRE, was given by Professor Susan Athey. Her Woytinsky Lecture was entitled, “The Internet and the News Media.” Athey is The Economics of Technology Professor at Stanford Graduate School of Business, and was previously on the economics faculty at MIT, Stanford and Harvard.

The MITRE sponsored public lecture, “Finance and the Good Society,” was presented on April 18, 2012, by Robert J. Shiller, the Arthur M. Okun Professor of Economics, Department of Economics and Cowles Foundation for Research in Economics, Yale University.

A MITRE Visiting Scholar lecture, “United States then, Europe now,” was given on April 9, 2012, by Thomas J. Sargent, the W. R. Berkley Professor of Economics and Business at New York University and 2011 Nobel Laureate in Economics. He returned in 2013; on October 9, he gave a talk titled "Fiscal Discriminations in Three Wars."

2016 - 2017 Academic Year Visitors

Visits of at least one month

Soren Anderson, Michigan State University

Visits of less than one month

Treb Allen, Dartmouth College

Charles Engel, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Jeff Ely, Northwestern University

Ben Faber, UC-Berkeley

Marc Henry, Pennsylvania State University

Han Hong, Stanford University

Chang-Tai Hsieh, University of Chicago

Seema Jayachandran, Northwestern University

Reka Juhasz, Columbia University

Elena Manresa, MIT

Stephen Morris, Princeton University

Whitney Newey, MIT

Imran Rasul, University College London

Felipe Saffie, University of Maryland

Larry Samuelson, Yale University

Frank Schorfheide, University of Pennsylvania

Azeem Shaikh, University of Chicago

Elie Tamer, Harvard University

Jim Tybout, Pennsylvania State University

Marianne Wanamaker, University of Tennessee

Eric Verhoogen, Columbia University

Chris Woodruff, Oxford University

Hal Varian, Google

Eric Verhoogen, Columbia University

2015 - 2016 Academic Year Visitors

Visits of at least one month

Kfir Eliaz, Tel-Aviv University

Visits of less than one month

Anna Aizer, Brown University

Jose Diogo Barbosa, UC-Berkeley

Lanier Benkard, Stanford University

Antonio Bento, Cornell University

Sebastian Calonico, University of Miami

Victor Chernozhukov, MIT

Peter Crampton, University of Maryland

Gordon Dahl, UC-San Diego

David Drukker, Stata Corporation

Seda Ertac, Koc University

Kyle Herkenhoff, University of Minnesota

Tom Holmes, University of Minnesota

Hilary Hoynes, UC-Berkeley

Samuel S. Kortum, Yale University

Jiangtao Li, National University of Singapore

Peter Lindert, UC-Davis

Heng Liu, University of Rochester

Rohini Pande, Harvard University

Petra Persson, Stanford University

Per Pettersson-Lidbom, Stockholm University

Jimmy Roberts, Duke University

Andres Rodriguez-Claire, UC-Berkeley

Steven Ruggles, University of Minnesota

Nicholas Ryan, Yale University

Steve Salant, University of Michigan Emeritus Faculty

Eytan Sheshinski, Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Scott Taylor, University of Calgary

Till von Wachter, UCLA

Nat Wilcox, Chapman University

Jeffrey Williamson, Harvard University

Thomas Winberry, The University of Chicago Booth

2014 - 2015 Academic Year Visitors

Visits of at least one month

Linchun Chen, UC-San Diego

Kfir Eliaz, Tel-Aviv University

Jihong Lee, Seoul National University

Emil Ozbay, University of Maryland

Erkut Ozbay, University of Maryland

Jean Marie Viaenne, Erasmus University

Assaf Zimring, Stanford University

Visits of less than one month

Don Andrews, Yale University

Gary Chamberlain, Harvard University

Kalyan Chatterjee, Penn State

Varanya Chaubey, UC-Berkeley

In-Koo Cho, University of Illinois

Thomas D. Cook, Northwestern University

Paul David, Stanford University

David Drukker, Stata Corporation

Graham Elliott, UC-San Diego

Garance Genicot, Georgetown University

Dalia Ghanem, UC-Davis

Bryan S. Graham, UC-Berkeley

Kyle Herkenhoff, University of Minnesota

Roger Koenker, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Samuel S. Kortum, Yale University

Heng Liu, University of Rochester

Adriana Lleras-Muney, UCLA

Marcelo Moreira, Fundação Getúlio Vargas

Andriy Norets, Brown University

Don Rubin, Harvard University

Elizabeth A. Stuart, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Tyler J. VanderWeele, Harvard School of Public Health

Frank Wolak, Stanford University

Randall Wright, Wisconsin School of Business

2013 - 2014 Academic Year Visitors

Visits of at least one month

Brian Baisa, Amherst College

Kai Carstensen, University of Munich

Kfir Eliaz, Tel-Aviv University

Mark Jacobsen, UC-San Diego

Jacques Mistral, Institut Français des Relations International

Asha Sundaram, University of Cape Town

Assaf Zimring, Stanford

Visits of less than one month

Susan Athey, Stanford University

Pranab Bhardan, UC-Berkeley

Pascaline Dupas, Stanford University

Shari Eli, University of Toronto

James Fenske, University of Oxford

Meredith Fowlie, UC-Berkeley

Julian di Giovanni, Universitat Pompeu Fabra

Johannes Haushofer, MIT

Ali Hortacsu, University of Chicago

Jonathan Levin, Stanford University

Charles Manski, Northwestern University

Rosa Matzkin, UCLA

Dierdre McCloskey, University of Illinois

Anna Mikusheva, MIT

Mushfiq Mobarak, Yale University

Thomas Sargent (Nobel-laureate), New York University

Matt Shum, Cal Tech

Eliana Garces Tolon, European Commission

Joel Watson, UC-San Diego

Sarit Weisburd, Hebrew University

Jidong Zhou, New York University

2012 - 2013 Academic Year Visitors (all short-term)

James Andreoni, UC-San Diego
In-Koo Cho, University of Illinois
Angus Deaton, Princeton University
Peter Dolton, London School of Economics
Mehmet Ekmekci, University of Wisconsin
Charles Engel, University of Wisconsin
Price Fishback, University of Arizona
Amit Gandhi, University of Wisconsin
Gene Grossman, Princeton University
Sergei Guriev, New Economic School
Elhanan Helpman, Harvard University
Cheng Hsiao, USC
Andres Aradillas Lopez, University of Wisconsin
Robert Margo, Boston University
Sanjog Misra, UCLA
Ryan Opera, University of British Columbia
Attila Raftai, Central European University
Thomas Sargent (Nobel-laureate), New York University
Yuya Sasaki, Johns Hopkins
Robert Shiller (Nobel-laureate), Yale University
Zheng Michael Song, University of Chicago Booth
Oliver Tercieux, Paris School of Economics
Chris Timmins, Duke University
Lesley Turner, University of Maryland
Takuro Yamashita, Toulouse School of Economics

MITRE also funded a workshop on the theory of auctions, paying for travel and lodging for 10 external faculty participants.