The Graduate and Undergraduate Hopwood Contest offers awards in the following genres: novel, drama, screenplay, nonfiction (any form of nonfiction prose, including creative nonfiction), short fiction and poetry. This year's award ceremony was held on Tuesday, April 19, 2017, in the Rackham Amphitheatre.

Congratulations to the following FTVM undergraduate award winners:

Hopwood Screenplay, Undergraduate
Abigail Buchmeyer, Owen Dawson, Nikita Mungarwadi, and Fahim Rahman 

The National Saferstein Literary Award 
Nikita Mungarwadi 

Leonard and Eileen Newman Writing Prizes, Screenplay
Abigail Buchmeyer, Owen Dawson, Kelsey Fox, Nikita Mungarwadi,and Fahim Rahman 

Hopwood Drama Award 
Maxim Vinogradov 

Dennis McIntyre Prize for Distinction in Undergraduate Playwriting
Maxim Vinogradov 

Frank & Gail Beaver Short Script Writing Prize 
Abigail Buchmeyer


"The Hopwood Screenplay Category is one of the few where undergraduates and graduate MFA writers compete for the same prize. This year every single Hopwood Screenplay Award was won by FTVM Screenwriting Sub-Majors. In the Drama Category, FTVM's Maxim Vinogradov was the only undergraduate to win a Hopwood."  

                                     -Jim Burnstein