The Department of Film, Television, and Media would like to congratulate this year's Hopwood Screenplay Award Winners Arianna Gelderloos, Jeffrey Henebury, Madison Fyke, and Emily Bice. The Department would also like to recognize Frank Allen for taking the top prize for the Kasdan scholarship in Creative WritingKelsey Fox for her Frank and Gail Beaver Scriptwriting Prize, Arianna Gelderloos for her Naomi Saferstein Literary Award, and the winners of the Leonard and Eileen Newman Writing Prize Phoebe Hopp, Vesal Stoakley, and Maxim Vinogradov. A special congratulations to Maxim Vinogradov for also winning the Hopwood Award for Drama and the Denis McIntyre Prize.

The Hopwood Award Ceremony was on Wednesday, April 18, 2018 at 5:00 p.m. in the Rackham Amphitheater. The presentation of the awards (by Hopwood Director Michael Byers) was followed by a lecture by Television Writer and Producer Janet Leahy