Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Student Publications and Awards


Recent journal publications led by graduate students in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences.


The students awards are presented at the annual Dorr Dinner in the Winter term of the academic year.

Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award – given to a Graduate Student Instructor who has taught two or more classes before January 31 of the year of the award. The recipient is nominated for the Rackham Graduate School Outstanding GSI Award. Previous recipients are

2022 Ethan Shirley
2021 Juliana Mesa, Nikolas Midttun
2020 Sarah Brehm
2019 Mark Robbins, Margaret (Meg) Veitch
2018 Alyssa Abbey, Sean Hurt, Kyle Meyer
2017 Erin Lynch, Will Bender, Joseph El Adli
2016 Samantha Nemkin, Ian Winkelstern
2015 Petr Yakovlev
2014 Carli Arendt
2013 Ethan Hyland, Sae Yun Kwon
2012 Laura Waters
2011 Alex Lechler
2010 Alison Duvall
2009 Daniel Horton2008 Lin Ma
2007 David Whipp2006 Jason Barnes, Andrea Stancin
2005 Kate Keller, Carmen Nezat
2004 Holli Frey, Zeb Page

and listed here.

John Dorr Graduate Academic Achievement Award – given to a graduate student who defended or will defend his/her PhD dissertation between January 31 of the year before and January 31 of the year of the award ceremony. Previous recipients are

2022 Sooyeon Kim, Marlon Ramos
2021 Phoebe Aron, Rebekah Stein, Yi Wang
2020 YoungJae Kim, Kelly Matsunaga
2019 Brian Konecke, Ross Maguire, Spencer Washburn
2018 Trever Hines, Peng Ni
2017 Timothy Gallagher, Richard Fiorella
2016 Sae Yun Kwon
2015 Karthik Anantharaman, Ethan Hyland
2014 Jennifer Cotton
2013 Laura Sherman
2012 Alison Duvall
2011 Devon Renock
2010 Elizabeth Feriss, Adam Rountrey
2009 Jason Barnes, Lin Ma
2008 Eric Kneller
2007 Martin Reich
2006 Carmen Nezat
2005 Jason Smerdon
2004 Chris Palenik
2003 Andrea Dutton, Eric Tohver
2002 Andrew Jacobson, Boris Kieffer
2001 Jonathon Bloch, Margaret Streepy
2000 Weiming Zhou
1999 David Fox, Liping Wang
1998 Ruth Blake
1997 Anna Martini
1996 William Clyde, Gerald Dickens
1995 William Patterson
1994 Joseph Graney
1993 Carl Drummond
1992 Matthias Ohr
1991 Arthur Leibold
1990 Richard Kettler
1989 Michael Cosca
1988 Paul Koch
1987 William Bartells

and listed here.

Golden Nebula Award – given to the best Turner Award proposal from a first-year graduate student. Previous recipients are

2021 Lucas Gomes, Kaitlin Koshurba, Diana Velazquez
2020 Alica Zhou
2019 Natalie Packard

and listed here.

Gold Star Award – given to the top-ranked Turner Award proposals for the year's grant cycle. Previous recipients are

2021 Daniel Blakemore, Sydney Gable
2020 Phoebe Aron, Madelyn Cook, Dhurba Raj Pandey
2019 Phoebe Aron, Rebecca Dzombak, Sharon Grim, Kirk Townsend

and listed here.