The Michigan Sociological Association has recognized Professor Alford A. Young, Jr. with the 2012 Charles Horton Cooley Award for Scholarly Contributions to the Field of Sociology.  Professor Young joins only two other UM faculty to have received this prestigious award; previously recognized faculty from UM were Ronald Freedman (2002) and Reynolds Farley (2005).

Professor Young currently serves as the Department Chair.

Congratulations Al!