This past weekend, the University of Michigan Debate Program won the 66th Annual Franklin R. Shirley Classic. This event was hosted by Wake Forest University and is considered the national collegiate debate championship of the fall semester. The U-M team is led by Kelly Phil, a political science major, and Rafael Pierry, a political science and philosophy major. 

Phil and Pierry went undefeated during the competition, winning the championship title in the final round against Wake Forest University with a 2-1 decision. During the competition they beat teams from Harvard, Dartmouth, Iowa, and Emory. 

The U-M team has had a very successful semester with a 41-4 overall record, earning three tournament victories. We look forward to supporting them next semester! 

Click here to read the Michigan Daily story.