Peter McIsaac, associate professor of Germanic languages and literatures and associate chair, awarded the departmental awards during the German department’s commencement reception on Thursday, May 2, 2019. Visit Facebook to view the complete photo album from the event.

Monica Sloan, Ryan Sahijdak, Noah Dobos

Bronson-Thomas Essay Prize

These prizes were established through the bequest of $1,000 by Thomas Bertrand Bronson, class of 1881, in memory of Calvin Thomas, who served as first chair of the department of Germanic Languages and Literatures and was a great pioneer in the field of German Studies generally. The Bronson-Thomas competition was first held in 1929, and has been held annually ever since.

Winners of Advanced German Essay Prize

1st Place:

Noah Dobos

2nd Place:

Ryan Sahijdak

3rd Place:

Monica Sloan

Martin Haller Prize

Best German Honors Thesis

Rebecca Epstein-Boley

Frank X. Braun Award

The Frank Braun Prize for the Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor in the German language program is awarded each year in honor of the late Professor Frank X. Braun, who was a dedicated teacher in the department for many years.

Outstanding Graduate Student Instructors:

Lauren Beck

Elizabeth McNeill

Lauren Beck
Elizabeth McNeill

Lecturer of the Year Award

Student Nominated Award for Excellence in Teaching and Promoting German Language and Culture:

Silvia Grzeskowiak

Maria Gull

Silvia Grzeskowiak
Maria Gull