Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

LSA Task Force on Anti-Racism and Racial Equality—Report and Recommendations

In fall 2020, Dean Anne Curzan convened the LSA Task Force on Anti-Racism and Racial Equality, composed of faculty, staff, and students, and co-chaired by Tabbye Chavous and Matthew Countryman. The Task Force was charged with creating a clear statement of vision and goals for anti-racism in LSA that could serve as a basis for action to catalyze and institutionalize anti-racist policies and practices as central to the college’s mission.

The purpose of the Task Force’s report is to propose a number of recommendations—ranging from small actions to transformational initiatives—for consideration by college leadership. This work will take sustained and long-term efforts, and will draw on deep expertise in the college. It will require LSA as a community to commit time and energy and to embrace the challenging project of systemic change.

Task Force members:

The following LSA faculty, staff, and students served on the Task Force and provided significant effort and expertise to its creation.

Tabbye Chavous, Director, National Center for Institutional Diversity, Associate Vice President for Research, and Professor of Education and Psychology (co-chair)

Matthew Countryman, Chair, Department of Afroamerican and African Studies, and Associate Professor of Afroamerican and African Studies and History (co-chair)

Samer Ali, Associate Professor of Arabic Language and Literature

RaShonda Flint, Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Education and Student Academic Affairs

Stephanie Fryberg, University Diversity and Social Transformation Professor of Psychology

Stephanie Hicks, Lecturer, Program on Intergroup Relations, Faculty Affiliate of the Institute for Research on Women and Gender

Vincent Hutchings, University Diversity and Social Transformation Professor of Political Science

Robert Megginson, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Mathematics

Whitney Peoples, Assistant Director, Focus on Race and Ethnicity Courses, Center for Research on Teaching and Learning

Ryan Perry, Undergraduate Student, Economics

Teresa Satterfield, Professor of Spanish

Isis Settles, Professor of Psychology and Afroamerican and African Studies

Vanessa Sih, Associate Chair, Department of Physics, and Professor of Physics

Ruby Tapia, Chair, Department of Women’s and Gender Studies, Associate Professor of English Language and Literature and Women’s and Gender Studies

Doreen Tinajero, Project Senior Manager, Center for Social Solutions

Aunrika Tucker-Shabazz, Doctoral Student, Sociology