Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Program | Perspectives on Contemporary Korea Conference 2017

November 17 and 18, 2017 | University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Location: Weiser Hall, Room 1010

Friday, November 17

11-11:15am    Opening Remarks

Nojin Kwak, Director, Nam Center for Korean Studies; Professor & Chair, Communication Studies
Pauline Jones, Director, International Institute & Professor, Political Science

11:15am-12:35pm    Panel 1: Korean Economy at a Crossroads: Geopolitical Risks and Policy Shift

E. Han Kim, Professor, Finance, University of Michigan
정구현 JUNG Ku-Hyun, President, The Seoul Forum for International Affairs and Visiting Professor at KAIST School of Business
이석채 LEE Suk-Chae, Former Minister of Information and Telecommunication

1:50-4pm    Panel 2: Korean-ness and Being: In Search of Hallyu's Transnational Identity

Kyung Hyun Kim, Professor, East Asian Languages and Literature & Visual Studies, University of California,  Irvine
주철환 JOO Chulhwan, CEO, Seoul Foundation for Arts and Culture
Peter Kang, President of Production, Lionsgate
Flowsion Shekar, CEO & Founder, Koreaboo & Founder, KCON

4:20-5:35pm    Keynote Address: Mapping Social Change from the Court: Constitutional Globalization in Korea

강일원 KANG Ilwon, Korean Constitutional Court Justice

Saturday, November 18

10:30am-11:45pm    Panel 3: Lessons from Korean Education: Inside Reforms and Global Implications

Hyunjoon Park, Korea Foundation Professor, Sociology, University of Pennsylvania
Seth Andrew,

1:00-2:50pm    Panel 4: Spaces of Citizenship

Jennifer Chun, Associate Professor, Sociology, University of Toronto
Ju Hui Judy Han, Assistant Professor, Gender Studies, University of California, Los Angeles
김명준 KIM Myoungjoon, Director, MediACT, Korea

3:10-5:00pm    Keynote Panel: The Two Koreas and Northeast Asia: The Future Is Now

崔之元 CUI Zhiyuan, Professor, School of Public Policy and Management, Tsinghua University
Meredith Woo, President, Sweet Briar College
유승민 YOO Seong-min, Member, National Assembly of the Republic of Korea