Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

NRC/Title VI

The International Institute is home to six National Resource Centers (NRCs). These prestigious designations, earned in national peer-reviewed competitions, are awarded by the US Department of Education Title VI program. This program strives to develop the nation’s capacity in international studies, area studies, foreign languages, and international business education.

Six centers received grants for Foreign Language and Area Studies (FLAS) Fellowships. These centers administer annual competitions to award undergraduate and graduate-level fellowships to support the study of foreign languages.

National Resource Centers

FLAS-Granting Centers

Title VI refers to the section of the National Defense Education Act of 1958 that established a set of academic and fellowship programs. These programs were inaugurated in response to the launch of Sputnik by the Soviet Union in 1957 and the U.S. government’s recognition that greater capacity in foreign languages and area studies was needed.

Subsequently incorporated into the Higher Education Act and administered by the U.S. Department of Education, Title VI programs have been expanded over the past 50 years to address not only national security needs but also concerns related to global competitiveness and a more internationally competent citizenry.

International Institute units currently have grants from the following Title VI programs:

National Resource Centers

Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowships