Professor Elizabeth Anderson has been elected to the American Philosophical Society, the oldest learned society in the United States. Anderson currently serves as John Dewey Distinguished University Professor, John Rawls Collegiate Professor, and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor in the Philosophy Department at the University of Michigan.

Founded by Benjamin Franklin in 1743, the American Philosophical Society supports the advancement of knowledge in the sciences and humanities through research, publications, meetings and conferences, grants and fellowships, public engagement, and library resources.

New members are elected to the Society each year by current members, in recognition of  "extraordinary accomplishments in all fields and for work that promotes useful knowledge." Professor Anderson is one of 36 new members elected to the Society in 2021.

Professor Anderson joins over 5,700 members elected since 1743, including figures such as John James Audubon, Willa Cather, Marie Curie, Charles Darwin, Thomas Edison, Albert Einstein, Robert Frost, George C. Marshall, Barbara McClintock, Margaret Mead, Maria Mitchell, and Louis Pasteur. 

Read the full list of APS members elected in 2021 here. Congratulations, Professor Anderson!