Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Susan Lipschutz/Margaret Ayers Host/Anna Olcott Smith Awards

Students submit one application for this "combined competition." Three separate awards are given of at least $5,000 each in honor of Susan Lipschutz, Margaret Ayers Host, and Anna Olcott Smith.

The Susan Lipschutz Fund recognizes and supports promising women scholars and was established to honor the memory of Dr. Susan Lipschutz, former Senior Associate Dean of the Graduate School and Associate Provost for Academic Affairs. Dr. Lipschutz was a graduate of the Michigan Philosophy department in 1969 and wrote her dissertation on "Participatory Democracy.” Dean Earl Lewis, in the first year of the award (1998) stated that the fund is awarded to women who "are exceptional scholars and who exemplify Susan's sense of social responsibility and concern for the welfare of others." The $5,000 award is intended to support summer dissertation research and travel.

Margaret Ayers Host received a Rackham degree in 1942. She studied at Oxford, was President of the Alumni Association, Chair of the Alumnae Council, member of the Board in Control of Intercollegiate Athletics, and a member of the Rackham Board of Governors. The Margaret Ayers Host Award was established to honor her remarkable contributions as a woman scholar and to the University of Michigan community.

Ella Smith Avery made a gift in 1938 in order to honor the memory of her mother and to support women graduate students at the University of Michigan. According to the terms of the gift, the Anna Olcott Smith Fellowship Endowment is intended to aid women graduate students who show "promise of the development of useful original ideas."

Department of Philosophy Recipients

2017:      Cat Saint-Croix, Susan Lipschutz Award

2008:     Erica Lucast Stonestreet, Susan Lipschutz Award

2005:     Carole Lee, Anna Olcutt Smith Award