Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Departmental Awards

Annual Competitions

Each year, the Department of Classical Studies and Modern Greek Program are pleased to present students with awards acknowledging outstanding achievement and excellence in their field of study. The awards are made possible through the benevolence and generosity of University of Michigan alumni and patrons of Classical Studies and Modern Greek.

The Phillips Classical Prizes

Awarded in memory of Henry Phillips for excellence in Ancient Greek and Latin at both the elementary and intermediate levels, as determined by written exams given each year in March.

Shannon Burton receives Contexts for Classics Translation Award (2019)

The Modern Greek Prizes

Awarded to top undergraduate students for excellence demonstrated in a Modern Greek translation competition at both the elementary and intermediate levels.

Contexts for Classics Prizes

Undergraduate and graduate students from all departments are invited to submit creative translations of texts from Latin, Ancient Greek, and Modern Greek. Translations may be in textual form, or presented as a work of music, visual and screen arts, drama, or dance. 

Winners of the Phillips, Modern Greek and Context for Classics competitions are honored at the Phillips Prize Ceremony in April, usually on the last day of classes.

Awards for Graduating Seniors

The Department gives awards to graduating students for outstanding achievement in the concentrations. Recipients are honored at the departmental graduation reception for students, friends and family.

  • Archaeology: The Classical Archaeology Award
  • Classical Civilization: The Classical Civilization Award
  • Latin: The Copley Prize, in honor of Frank O. Copley
  • Greek: The Seligson Prize, in honor of Gerda M. Seligson
  • Modern Greek: The Modern Greek Prize, in honor of Calliopi Evangelios
  • Linguistics: The Classical Linguistics Prize (occasional)
  • Future Latin Teacher Prize (occasional)