Rick Lewis was one of five U-M professors selected to receive Arthur F. Thurnau Professorships this year. According to the U-M Office of the Provost, the Arthur F. Thurnau Professorships “recognize and reward faculty for outstanding contributions to undergraduate education. This program is designed to honor those tenured faculty whose commitment to and investment in undergraduate teaching has had a demonstrable impact on the intellectual development and lives of their students.” Recipients of the award retain the title throughout their careers at U-M and receive a $20,000 grant to support their teaching.

Lewis was selected for the award based partly on his exceptional classroom teaching, his involvement in the creation of the Cognitive Science undergraduate major, and his directorship of the Weinberg Institute for Cognitive Science since 2017. Read more about Lewis and the other 2021 Thurnau recipients in The University Record.