Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Imes and Moore Mentorship Award

Background: The Imes & Moore Mentorship Award (formerly the Imes & Moore Faculty Award) is presented to faculty members who have made exceptional contributions toward recruiting and mentoring graduate students in the sciences from disadvantaged and non-traditional backgrounds. This award honors Elmer Samuel Imes, the second African American to receive a Ph.D. in physics in the United States, and Willie Hobbs Moore, the first African American woman to receive a Ph.D. in physics in the United States. Both received their Ph.D.s from our Department of Physics – Imes in 1918 and Moore in 1972.

Eligibility: Tenured and tenure-track faculty in the natural sciences are eligible for this award. Nominees cannot have received this award previously, and must not be current members of the LSA Curriculum Committee. For a list of award recipients, please see below.

Calendar for Submission and Evaluation of Nominations: Nominations accepted until mid-to-late February. Nominations will be reviewed by the LSA Curriculum Committee, which will recommend an award recipient to the LSA Executive Committee. The successful nominee will be notified in May and will receive a certificate acknowledging his or her contributions to recruiting and mentoring, and a one-time payment of $3,000, at the beginning of the following academic year. The $3,000 prize can be used for additional salary or research support; if used to pay additional salary, this will include the cost of benefits.

Documentation Required

A nomination should include the following:
1. Brief supporting statement from Chair, Associate Chair, or Director. Please limit the length of this statement to no more than two pages (single-spaced, standard font and margins).
2. Copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae.
3. Letters of support from two former graduate students of the nominee. Each letter should be limited to no more than two pages (single-spaced, standard font and margins). The nominee should be given the option of requesting these letters of support directly from students of their choosing, but the letters should be submitted to a third party (e.g., Chair, Associate Chair, or Key Administrator) rather than directly to the nominee.

All submissions should be in electronic form. Paper submissions will not be accepted. Each nomination should be sent as a SINGLE PDF file to Assistant Dean Dorine Lawrence-Hughes ( and Cameron Gibelyou ( Please title the PDF file “Imes and Moore, [Nominee Name], [Name of Nominating Department]”.

Sample Evaluation Form

Imes and Moore Mentorship Award - Recipients

2021 Timothy James Ecology And Evolutionary Biology
2020 Corey Stephenson Chemistry
2019 Christine Aidala Physics
2018 Anna Mapp Chemical Biology Program/Chemistry
2017 Carol Fierke Chemistry
2016 Anuj Kumar Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
2015 Cagliyan Kurdak Physics
2014 Ted Goodson Chemistry
2013 Nils Walter Chemistry
2012 Adam Matzger Chemistry
2011 Trachette Jackson Physics
2010 Mark Hunter Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
2009 John Vandermeer Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
2008 Bradford Orr Physics
2007 Homer Neal Physics
2006 Janine Maddock Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
2005 Roy Clarke Physics