Amie Gordon
Robin Edelstein
Emily Diamond
Annika From
Nazanin Kafaee
Miranda Reynaga


The John A. Swets Memorial Award for Excellence in Collaborative Research in Psychological Science honors the memory of John A. Swets. While at Michigan, Professor Swets co-developed the Theory of Signal Detection with Wilson P. Tanner and David M. Green (Psychological Review, 1954), exemplifying the powerful influence that collaborations can have on science. The award is granted biennially to honor and promote the research of University of Michigan faculty members in the Department of Psychology who are engaged in ongoing and potentially transformative collaborative research across disciplinary boundaries.

The 2023 Swets Award was granted to the project “A dyadic, experimental approach to understanding biopsychosocial effects of sleep on relationship outcomes,” which will “address fundamental gaps in the literature and lay the foundation for interventions that directly and effectively address the role of parental sleep disruption in the transition to parenthood.”

Congratulations to the investigators:

  • Amie Gordon (lead investigator) and Robin Edelstein (faculty investigator) 
  • Emily Diamond, Annika From, Nazanin Kafaee, and Miranda Reynaga (graduate student investigators)