Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Faculty Awards

2023 -2024

Regina Baucom won the 2023 Imes and Moore Mentorship Award. This award is presented to faculty members who have made exceptional contributions toward recruiting and mentoring graduate students in the sciences from disadvantaged and non-traditional backgrounds.  Baucom also received the Sarah Goddard Power Award for work contributing to the betterment of current challenges faced by women in academia and being a strong advocate for women and other systematically marginalized scientists in ecology and evolution.

Alison Davis Rabosky received the 2024 Henry Russel Award. The Henry Russel Award is the University’s highest honor for faculty at the early to mid-career stages of their career and is given to faculty members who have demonstrated an extraordinary record of accomplishment in scholarly research and/or creativity, as well as an excellent record of contributions as a teacher. Davis Rabosky also received the 2023 Rackham Master’s Mentoring Award. The Rackham Master’s Mentoring Awards recognize faculty from any discipline who are outstanding mentors to master’s students, particularly for those in programs for which the master’s is the terminal degree.

Meghan Duffy was elected as a Fellow of the Ecological Society of America. 

Laura Eidietis was recognized with the title of Teaching Professor after many years of excellent and dedicated teaching in the classroom. 

Timothy James won a University Faculty Recognition Award. These awards are for mid-career faculty who have demonstrated remarkable contributions to the University through outstanding achievements in scholarly research and/or creative endeavors; excellence as a teacher, advisor and mentor; and distinguished participation in the service activities of the university and elsewhere.

Jo Kurdziel received the title of Teaching Professor for her many years of excellent and outsized impact on the teaching mission of our department and PiB. Jo is also the Beverly Rathcke Collegiate Lecturer.

Hernán López-Fernández received the Margaret M. Stewart Achievement award for Excellence in Ichthyology or Herpetology from the American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists. 

Patricia Wittkopp has been named the Deborah E. Goldberg Distinguished University Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology. Distinguished University Professorships recognize senior faculty who have exceptional scholarly or creative achievements, national and international reputations for academic excellence and superior records of teaching, mentoring, and service. Each honoree names the professorship after a person of distinction in their field. 

Natalia Umaña was elected as an Early Career Fellow of the Ecological Society of America. George Zhang received the 2023 Rackham Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award. The Rackham Distinguished Graduate Mentoring Awards recognize tenured faculty from any discipline who are outstanding mentors of doctoral students, who support their intellectual, creative, scholarly, and professional growth, and foster a culture of intellectual engagement in which they thrive.