Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Chronology of Progress

  • 1817             University of Michigan established under the Greek name “Catholepistemiad”
  • 1887-95         Earliest known period when Modern Greek courses are offered
  • 1940s            Modern Greek courses offered sporadically
  • 1970s            Modern Greek courses offered sporadically
  • 1970             World premiere of The Odyssey by N. Kazantzakis in Kimon Friar’s stage adaptation                     
  • 1971             Composer Manos Hadjidakis gives concert of his music on campus
  • 1972             Nobel-laureate Russian author Joseph Brodski offers seminar on C. P. Cavafy
  • 1987             Establishment of Greek American Educational & Cultural Association (GRAECA)
  • 1988             Establishment of C. A. Tsangadas Trust to support Byzantine and Modern Greek Studies
  • 1990             Professor Traianos Gagos launches regular two-year language cycle
  • 1991             Launch of collaboration between Modern Greek and Hellenic Student Association
  • 1992             Fundraising efforts follow the success of the language cycle
  • 1995             Greek Ministry of Culture begins to support Modern Greek
  • 1997             Foundation for Modern Greek Studies established and incorporated
  • 1999             Professors Vassilis Lambropoulos and Artemis Leontis hired
  • 2000             Inauguration of C. P. Cavafy Professorship in Modern Greek, endowed by the Foundation
  • 2001             First campus “Hellenic Cultural Month” in collaboration with the Council of Hellenes Abroad
  • 2002             “Cavafy’s World,” a six-month celebration which includes four exhibits, a conference, and                                   lectures
  • 2003             Academic and cultural events made available by annual Support Fund established by the                                   Foundation
  • 2003             Inauguration of the annually supported Dimiti and Irmgard Pallas Lecture in Modern Greek
  • 2004             Student scholarships made available by annual Support Fund established by the Foundation
  • 2005             Annual Library fund established in memory of Gwen Stavros to support the Modern Greek                                   collection
  • 2010             Eva C. Topping donates to the library her archive on Greek Orthodoxy in America
  • 2012             Kalliopi Kontou-Filis and Kenneth P. Mathews Student Study Fund endowed
  • 2013             Calliope Papala Politou Student Prize endowed