The Michigan Association of State Universities has named Anne Ruggles Gere, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and director of the Sweetland Center for Writing, as a Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year.

Gere, the Gertrude Buck Collegiate Professor and chair of the Joint Ph.D. Program in English and Education, will be honored formally Friday by the organization that represents the state’s 15 public universities, in recognition of her innovative approaches to pedagogy and the numerous programs she has initiated to strengthen undergraduate education.

“Professor Gere, a national leader in developing new writing pedagogies, combines close work with students, training of peer educators, engagement with faculty, and information from learning analytics to strengthen students’ writing and the learning the accompanies it,” said Provost Martin Philbert, who nominated Gere for the honor.

“We are pleased to see her contributions recognized with this MASU award.”

Gere joined the U-M faculty in 1987. She holds joint appointments in LSA's Department of English and the School of Education. She has directed the Sweetland Center for Writing since 2008.

Read the full article from the University Record.