Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Outstanding Research Mentor Awards

Each year, UROP recognizes outstanding mentors who have exceeded expectations in providing opportunities and guidance to their UROP students. These exceptional mentors demonstrate an interest in the college experiences, academic goals, and career plans of their students.

Nominations are reviewed by UROP staff and Peer Facilitators. Award winners are honored during the UROP Spring Research Symposium in April and include a stipend.

Outstanding Research Mentor Award Recipients 


2013-2014 Recipients 

Robin Means Coleman, Ph.D.

Rebecca Hasson, Ph.D.

Sean Teh-Sheng Ma, Ph.D.

Alvaro Rojas- Pena, M.D.

Timothy Ryan, Doctoral Candidate

Ariella Shikanov, Ph.D.



2011-2012 Recipients

Sara McClelland, Ph.D.

Carrie Ferrario, Ph.D.

Peter Scott, Ph.D.

Michael Olszewski, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Roni Shtein, M.D., M.S.

Leopoldo Pando Zayas, Ph.D.


2009-2010 Recipients

Asim Beg, PhD

Susan Brown, PhD

Martha Carlson Mazur, PhD

Michael Heaney, PhD

Sara Konrath, PhD


2012-2013 Recipients

Paul Carlson, Ph.D

Amy Krings, MSW

Jeannie Hernandaz, Ph.D

Jiangchao Zhao, Ph.D

Sarah Aciego

Terri Voepel-Lewis, MSN, RN

William Carson, Ph.D


2010-2011 Recipients

Ryan Bremner, PhD Candidate

Jeremiah Chamberlin, MFA

John Ciorciari, PhD

Kerry Mychaliska, MD

Jon Oscherwitz, MD

Russell Taichman, DMD, DmSc

Dimitris Zekkos, PhD