Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Feminist Practice Award

Feminist Practice Award for Undergraduates

This annual award recognizes Women’s and Gender Studies or Gender & Health undergraduate majors or minors in LGBTQ Studies, Gender, Race and Nation, Gender and Health, or Social Class and Inequality studies whose work in community service or activism best exemplifies application of feminist thought to practice. The winner will have a strong record of leadership that demonstrates a clear connection to ideas from Women’s and Gender Studies courses. We particularly welcome applications from students whose work has focused on empowering those who are marginalized.

Nominations may be forwarded by eligible students or other members of the University community. Self-nominations are especially welcome. Nominees are asked to submit a narrative of 300–500 words describing their relevant service or activism and its connections to their academic work at the University of Michigan, including specifically their coursework in Women’s Studies. The award carries a plaque and $750 and is conferred on a student or group of students at graduation.  

The 2024 submission deadline is March, 21, 2024. Submit here.

Previous Feminist Practice Award winners: 

2023 winner: Adriana Farmer-Mohamed

2022 winner: Jessica Wang; Honorable Mention: Emma Theisen

2021 winner: Lunar Doula Collective

2020 winner: Shaima Abdullah

2019 winner: Amani Echols

2018 winners: G Ryan and Jamie Thompson

2017 winner: Lakyrra Magee

2016 winner: Lamees Mekkaoui

2015 winner:  Emma Maniere

2014 winners: Students for Choice. Honorable Mention, Zeinab Khalil.

2013 winner:  Amy Navvab

Inaugural 2012 winner:  What the F Magazine. Honorable Mention, Sarah Kucemba, Annie Sajid.