LSA's Executive Committee awarded Professor and Chair Andreas Gailus the 2019 John Dewey Award. Award recipients are selected each year from among those recommended for promotion from associate professor to full professor with tenure. Award recipients demonstrate long-term commitment to the education of undergraduate students. Dewey winners are considered to model the full range of John Dewey's own considerable talents: scholarly productivity, provision of leadership, and engagement with and care for students. Gailus officially receives this award at the LSA Faculty Promotions Dinner on June 13, 2019.

Congratulations, Andreas!