Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

DEI Committee Members

Kristin Dickinson is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures, for which she also serves as the Faculty Ally for Diversity.  Her research on contemporary German and Turkish literature examines the potential of translation, as both a formal and a social medium, to intervene in nationalist ideologies and nationally structured areas of study. Her teaching and publications have focused on questions of world literature, multilingualism and cross-linguistic remembrance, the reappropriation of ethnic slurs, nationalism and the history of language reform, and non-ethnic modes of belonging. At the core of her research lies an interest in challenging racial and ethnic definitions of German- and Turkishness.

Mary Rodena Krasan is a lecturer in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures. She earned her doctorate in Germanic Languages and Literatures from Washington University in St. Louis. Her research interests include: postcolonialism; the German colonial imagination as reflected in German Science Fiction and Fantasy; and the intersectionality of technology and pedagogy. She has won the Lecturer of the Year award (2016), the ITC Level II award (2014), and the NINI grant (2015) for new innovations. Her emphasis on a student-centered, inclusive, forward-thinking environment for the classroom now carries over into her additional role as undergraduate advisor for the German Department at the University of Michigan.

Mary Hennessy is a doctoral candidate in German Studies and graduate certificate student in Film, Television, and Media. Her research interests span German film history, twentienth-century literature and culture, media theory, and gender studies. She is currently completing her dissertation, Handmaidens of Modernity: Gender, Labor, and Media in Weimar Germany, which examines the relationships among gender, labor, and new media technologies in early twentieth century Germany, focusing in particular on women's roles as telephone operators, typists, and film editors. Mary's research has attracted the support of the University of Michigan Institute for Research on Women and Gender, the Institute for the Humanities, the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), and the Fulbright Program. 

Mary has published two peer-reviewed, award-winning articles that reflect her broad research interests in German film history. Her essay on Rainer Werner Fassbinder’s 1974 film Martha uses a transnational, comparative framework to focus on the film’s relationship to the 1940s Hollywood paranoid woman’s film and to Douglas Sirk’s 1950s Hollywood melodramas. This piece received the American Association of Teachers of German award for best article in German Studies and was subsequently published in The German Quarterly. Her second article, published in Camera Obscura, traces a genealogy of the contemporary Berlin School to German film culture of the 1970s. Insisting on a feminist understanding of the term “counter-cinema,” she examines the relationships between photography, subjectivity, and the politics of the image in Helke Sander’s Redupers (1978) and Angela Schanelec’s Marseille (2004). This article received the 2018 Women in German Best Article Prize.

At Michigan, Mary has taught courses in German and in Film, Television, and Media. In 2016, she received the Frank X. Braun Memorial Graduate Student Instructor Award in 2016 for her introductory German film course. Before joining the German department, she earned her B.A. in Political Science at St. Edward’s University in Austin, Texas, and her M.A. in European Studies from Indiana University Bloomington, where she wrote a master's thesis on affect in the films of Fatih Akin.