Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Named Postdoctoral Fellows

Byrne Postdocs

The Byrne Postdoctoral Fellows were established as part of the Byrne Fund for Financial Mathematics and Risk Management. The fund was created to honor John J. (Jack) Byrne, through a donation by his wife Dorothy. Jack Byrne received a Masters of Actuarial Science from the UM Mathematics Department in 1959. He was a student and good friend of long-time actuarial program director Professor Cecil Nesbitt. Byrne had a long and distinguished career in the industry, including serving as Chairman and Chief Executive of GEICO for many years, head of Fireman's Fund Insurance, and founder of White Mountains Insurance Group. Jack passed away in 2013, and Dorothy is still actively supporting this cause.
  • Shuoqing Deng
    Mathematics, Financial and Actuarial
    B.S., Peking University (2012)
    M.S., ENSAE ParisTech (2015)
    M.S., Paris Dauphine University (2015)
    Ph.D., Paris Dauphine University (2019)
  • Gaoyue Guo
    Mathematics, Financial and Actuarial

    B.Sc., Tongji University (2009)
    Diploma, Ecole Polytechnique (2012)
    M.Sc., University Pierre et Marie Curie (2013)
    Ph.D., Ecole Polytechnique (2016)Dominykas Norgilas, Finance 
  • Ruoyu Wu
    Mathematics, Financial and Actuarial
    B.Sc., Peking University (2012)
    Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill (2016)


Donald J. Lewis Postdocs

Donald J. Lewis was a UM Mathematics faculty member from 1961 until retirement in 2000. He served as chair of the Mathematics Department from 1984-1994. During his tenure as chair, he was instrumental in developing and expanding the department's postdoctoral faculty program. Don and his wife, Carolyn Dana Lewis, established funding for these postdoc positions through direct gifts and a bequest. Both have passed away--Don in 2015 and Carolyn in 2019.

2019-2020 (current)

  • Shizhang Li
    Algebra and Algebraic Geometry
    Education/ Degree:
    B.S., Zhejiang University (2014)
    Ph.D., Columbia University (2019)
  • Jakub Witaszek
    Mathematics; Algebra and Algebraic Geometry

    B.Sc., Warsaw University (2012)
    M.Sc., Bonn University (2014)
    Ph.D., Imperial College London (2019)


Parekh Assistant Professor

Anand Parekh established the Parekh Family fund to provide support to various initiatives with the Department of Mathematics. The Parekh Family Postdoctoral Fellows are specifically chosen and trained to teach in the Inquiry Based Learning program. Anand is a 1994 UM graduate, with a dual degree in English and Mathematics. In 2008 he founded Alyeska Investment Group in Chicago. In 2019, his company had more than $9 billion in assets under their management.
2019-2020 (current)
  • Eric Canton 
    Mathematics, Algebra

    B.S., Pennsylvania State University (2012)
    M.S., University of Nebraska (2014)
    Ph.D., University of Nebraska (2018)
  • Anna Weigandt
    Mathematics, Combinatorics

    Education/ Degree:
    B.S., Illinois State University (2012)
    M.S., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2016)
    Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2018)


National Science Foundation Postdocs

The purpose of the Mathematical Sciences Postdoctoral Research Fellowships (MSPRF) is to support future leaders in mathematics and statistics by facilitating their participation in postdoctoral research environments that will have maximal impact on their future scientific development. There are two options for awardees: Research Fellowship and Research Instructorship. Awards will support research in areas of mathematics and statistics, including applications to other disciplines.
  • Oliver Pechenik
    Mathematics, Combinatorics; Algebra and Algebraic Geometry
    B.A., Oberlin College (2010)
    Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2016)

James Van Loo Postdocs

In 2014, the Department of Mathematics received a gift from the estate of alumnus James Van Loo (BS 1967) that supports various initiatives in the area of Applied Mathematics, including the Van Loo Postdoctoral Fellowships. Mr. Van Loo began his career at General Electric in Florida, where he worked on high performance graphics. He joined Sun Microsystems in 1985 as a software engineer in internet standards and graphics, and eventually retired from Microsoft in 2009, where he worked on internet standards. Mr Van Loo was an innovator in the field, and held several patents related to computer graphics and internet standards.
  • Tomas Berggren
    B.Sc., Tsinghua University (2014)
    Ph.D., Université Paris-Sud XI (2019)
  • Pengyu Le
    Mathematics, Analysis

    B.A., Tsinghua University (2013)
    Ph.D., ETH Zürich (2018)
  • Sitai Li
    Mathematics, Applied Mathematics
    B.S., Nankai University (2010)
    Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo (2018)

  • Hui Zhu

    B.Sc., Tsinghua University (2014)
    Ph.D., Université Paris-Sud XI (2019)
  • Jorn Zimmerling 
    Mathematics, Applied Mathematics
    B.S., Technical University Delft (2012)
    M.S., Technical University Delft (2014)
    Ph.D., Technical University Delft (2018)