Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$root.page}}

Placement and Proficiency Tests

The Slavic department offers proficiency exams for the following languages:

  • Albanian
  • Bosnian
  • Bulgarian
  • Croatian
  • Czech
  • Lithuanian
  • Polish
  • Romanian
  • Russian
  • Serbian
  • Ukrainian

For all languages except Russian, students should contact slavic@umich.edu to arrange an exam. There is a $50 testing fee for non-U-M students; there is no cost to U-M students.

During the academic year, please schedule a Russian placement test by making an advising appointment with Language Program Director Svitlana Rogovyk. The Russian placement test is individually designed based on an initial oral interview. Outside of the academic year, Russian placement exams take place during U-M spring, summer, and fall term orientation programs (more information below).

Fall 2019 Polish Placement and Proficiency Exam

Students of any level of Polish language are invited to take the Polish proficiency/placement exam. This is a written exam and any additional oral exams will be scheduled after completion if the written exam.

This can be used to place out of the LSA language requirement and/or place students into the appropriate level of Polish language courses.

Sign up here for a seat in the exam: https://goo.gl/forms/NayLj8eTRiQBoTkI3

Orientation Placement Exam Schedule (Russian only)

Proctored (in-person) Russian placement exams are scheduled to coincide with U-M orientation programs for incoming first-year and transfer students. Orientation schedules are subject to change. If you plan to take any of the following tests and you are not affiliated with an orientation program, it is your responsibility to contact the Office of New Student Programs to confirm the date, time, and location of the test. ONSP is unable to provide test scores; you will need to secure those from your academic advisor.

If you have any questions about Russian placement tests during orientation, contact the Office of New Student Programs at (734) 764-6413 or email onsp@umich.edu.

RUSSIAN PLACEMENT EXAM SCHEDULE 2019

Date

Time

Exam Type

Program Type

Location

Monday May 6

9:30-10:45 AM

Russian

Spring Transfer

1448 Mason Hall

Monday May 13

9:30-10:45 AM

Russian

FA Transfer

1448 Mason Hall

Tuesday, May 14

9:30-10:45 AM

Russian

FA Transfer

1448 Mason Hall

Wednesday, May 15

9:30-10:45 AM

Russian

FA Transfer

1448 Mason Hall

Thursday, May 16

9:30-10:45 AM

Russian

FA Transfer

1448 Mason Hall

Monday, June 3

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Tuesday, June 4

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Wednesday, June 5

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Sunday, June 9

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Monday, June 10

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Tuesday, June 11

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Wednesday, June 12

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Sunday, June 16

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Monday, June 17

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Tuesday, June 18

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Wednesday, June 19

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Sunday, June 23

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Monday, June 24

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Tuesday, June 25

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Wednesday, June 26

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Sunday, June 30

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Summer Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Monday, July 1

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Tuesday, July 2

9:30-10:45 AM

Russian

SU Transfer

1448 Mason Hall

Sunday, July 7

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Monday, July 8

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Tuesday, July 9

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Wednesday, July 10

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Friday, July 12

9:30-10:45 AM

Russian

FA Transfer

1448 Mason

Sunday, July 14

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Monday, July 15

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Tuesday, July 16

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Wednesday, July 17

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Sunday, July 21

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Monday, July 22

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Tuesday, July 23

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Wednesday, July 24

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Friday, July 26

9:30-10:45 AM

Russian

FA Transfer

TBA

Sunday, July 28

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Monday, July 29

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Tuesday, July 30

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Wednesday, July 31

4:30-6:00 PM

Russian

Fall Freshmen

1068 East Hall

Wednesday, August 7

9:30-10:45 AM

Russian

FA Transfer

1448 Mason Hall

Thursday, August 8

9:30-10:45 AM

Russian

FA Transfer

1448 Mason Hall

Friday, August 9

9:30-10:45 AM

Russian

FA Transfer

1448 Mason Hall

Tuesday, August 27

8:00-9:30 AM

Russian

FA International

MLB Lecture Rm 1

Wednesday, August 28

1:30-3:00 PM

Russian

Final Fall

Angell Hall, Aud. C

Friday, August 30

2:15-3:45 PM

Russian

Make-Up

1448 Mason Hall