Department of Mathematics Committee and Service Assignments 2024-2025

Administration, Hiring and Outreach

Department Chair: Karen Smith

Associate Chairs

Term Faculty Appointments: Dick Canary Regular Faculty Appointments: Victoria Booth Education-Personnel & Curriculum: Kristen Moore Education-Logistics: David Speyer Graduate Studies: Mattias Jonsson

Chief Administrator: Doreen Fussman

Area Leaders

Algebra/Logic – Mattias Jonsson Analysis –Mark Rudelson Applied/Scientific Computation – Peter Miller Combinatorics –Sergey Fomin Financial/Actuarial – Erhan Bayraktar Geometry/Topology – Alejandro Uribe Number Theory – Kartik Prasanna

Colloquium:

Zaher Hani

Computer Committee Gavin LaRose (Chair) Laura Shelp (IT Rep) Michael Zieve

ContinuUM Editorial Board

All Associate Chairs Chief Administrator Department Chair Development Committee Suzanne Rogers

Curriculum Committee Associate Chair for Education-Personnel & Curriculum (Chair) Associate Chair for Education-Logistics

Undergraduate Program Director Department Chair

Development Committee

Tony Bloch (Chair) Chief Administrator Department Chair Lydia Bieri Sarah Koch Roger Natarajan (actuarial consultant) Suzanne Rogers Ralf Spatzier

Diversity Equity & Inclusion Committee Jenny Young (DEI Lead & chair) Dick Canary Jenny Wilson (Rackham Faculty Ally)

Education and Course Oversight Committee

Associate Chair for Education-Logistics (Chair) AIM Director Area Leaders (Consultants) Associate Chair for Graduate Studies Doctoral Chair Undergraduate Program Director

Executive Committee

Department Chair (Chair) Chief Administrator, Consultant Executive Assistant Erhan Bayraktar (2023-24, 2024-25) Pat Boland (2024-25, 2025-26) Dmitry Chelkak (2024-25) Trace Jackson (2023-24, 2024-25) Peter Miller (2023-24, 2024-25) David Speyer (2024-25, 2025-26)

Faculty Award Nominations

Ralf Spatzier (Chair) Department Chair Executive Assistant Hy Bass Sergey Fomin Robert Krasny

Faculty Secretary: Executive Assistant

Inquiry Based Learning (IBL) Committee

Stephen DeBacker (Director)

Department Chair (Consultant) Dick Canary Jeffrey Lagarias

K-12 Outreach & Math Corps

Sarah Koch (Chair) Mark Conger Stephen DeBacker Bob Griess Martin Strauss Jenny Wilson

Lecturer Evaluation and Hiring Committee

Associate Chair for Education-Personnel & Curriculum (Chair) Associate Chair for Regular Faculty Department Chair Intro Program Director Undergraduate Program Director

Long Range Planning Committee (LRPC)

Department Chair Alexander Barvinok (2025) Sergey Fomin (2028) Zaher Hani (2029) Sarah Koch (2026) Kartik Prasanna (2027)

MCAIM Director

Danny Forger

Michigan Mathematical Journal:

Mircea Mustaţă, Editor Suzanne Rogers

MMSS Oversight Committee

Chief Administrator Department Chair Martin Strauss

Personnel Committee

Ralf Spatzier (Chair) Administrative Specialist Associate Chair for Regular Faculty Appointments Department Chair Lydia Bieri Selim Esedoglu Sarah Koch Kartik Prasanna Shravan Veerapaneni Associate Chair for Graduate Studies: Mattias Jonsson Director of Graduate Admissions: Jinho Baik Doctoral Chair: Andrew Snowden AIM Director: Silas Alben Admissions & Fellowships, Math Ph.D. Director of Graduate Admissions (Chair) Erhan Bayraktar Sergey Fomin Igor Kriz Mircea Mustaţă Alex Perry Alex Wright Sijue Wu Michael Zieve

AIM QR

AIM Director (Chair) Dan Burns Martin Strauss

Doctoral Committee Doctoral Chair (Chair) AIM Director Charlotte Chan (F) Alexander Barvinok Zaher Hani David Speyer Alejandro Uribe Alex Wright Sijue Wu (W)

Ethics Course Dan Burns (Chair) Bob Griess Martin Strauss Michael Zieve

Masters Committee (and advising)

AIM Director (AIM) Erhan Baykatkar (Quant) Asaf Cohen (non-AIM) Virginia Young (non-AIM)

Masters in Quantitative Finance Director

Erhan Bayraktar

QR Exams Algebra: Andrew Snowden (Chair) Charlotte Chan (F) Mattias Jonsson Alex Perry (W) Analysis: Dmitry Chelkak Mark Rudelson Geometry/Topology: Igor Kriz Jenny Wilson Applied: Robert Krasny Peter Miller AIM Admissions & Fellowships Committee, Ph.D. AIM Director (Chair) Ibrahim Ekren Selim Esedoglu **Danny Forger** Peter Miller **MLB Scholars Steering Committee** Trachette Jackson (Chair) **Department Chair Director of Graduate Admissions** AIM Director **Master's Admissions** Master's Advising Committee Chair AIM Director **Director of Graduate Admission Rackham Faculty Ally** Jenny Wilson

Associate Chair for Education, Personnel & Curriculum:

Kristen Moore Associate Chair for Education, Logistics:

David Speyer

Undergraduate Program Director: Hanna Bennett

Introductory Program Director: Gavin LaRose

Math Lab Director: Alaa Haj Ali

Actuarial Program Director: Roger Natarajan

Actuarial Club Advisor: Roger Natarajan

Financial Math Club Advisor: Ibrahim Ekren

Grader Assignments: Mattias Jonsson

Undergraduate Scholarships & Awards Kartik Prasanna (Chair)

Actuarial Program Director (consultant) Associate Chair for Education Personnel & Curriculum David Barrett Bob Griess Igor Kriz

Introductory Program

Course Responsibility: 105, 115, 116, 156 – Introductory Program Director 185-286, 295-396 – Honors Committee

Course Coordinators

- 105 Nina White
- 115 Paul Kessenich
- 116 Robert Cochrane
- 214 David Speyer
- 215 Alejandro Uribe
- 216 Sasha Barvinok
- 217 Stephen Debacker

Junior/Senior

Honors Committee David Barrett (Chair) Undergraduate Program Director Jeff Lagarias Andrew Snowden

Putnam Competition/Undergrad Math Competition

Jeff Lagarias (Chair) (W) Aaron Pixton (Chair) (F)

Transfer Credit Evaluation Committee

Actuarial Program Director Introductory Program Director Undergraduate Program Director Robert Cochrane Stephen DeBacker Angela Kubena Scott Schneider Beth Wolf

Undergraduate Advising

Associate Chair for Education-Personnel & Curriculum Undergraduate Program Director Mark Conger David Barrett Stephen DeBacker Bob Griess Robert Krasny Angela Kubena Roger Natarajan Aaron Pixton (F) Scott Schneider Nina White Beth Wolf Jenny Young

Undergraduate Research Committee (REU) Asaf Cohen (Chair)

Alex Wright Michael Zieve (W)

Undergraduate Math Club Advisors Sarah Koch (Chair) Martin Strauss