# Department of Mathematics Committee and Service Assignments 2023-2024

## Administration, Hiring and Outreach

### Department Chair: Karen Smith

### **Associate Chairs**

Term Faculty Appointments: Dick Canary Regular Faculty Appointments: Victoria Booth Education: Kristen Moore Graduate Studies: Sergey Fomin

Chief Administrator: Doreen Fussman

### **Area Leaders**

Algebra/Logic – Mircea Mustaţă Analysis –Mark Rudelson Applied/Scientific Computation – Peter Miller Combinatorics –Thomas Lam Financial/Actuarial – Erhan Bayraktar Geometry/Topology – Dick Canary Number Theory – Kartik Prasanna

### **Climate Deputy: Dick Canary**

Colloquium:

Zaher Hani

### **Computer Committee**

Michael Zieve (Chair) Silas Alben Selim Esedoglu LSA IT Representative

### **ContinuUM Editorial Board**

Department Chair All Associate Chairs Chief Administrator Development Committee

### **Development Committee**

**Tony Bloch (Chair)** Department Chair Chief Administrator Sarah Koch Roger Natarajan (actuarial consultant) Suzanne Rogers Ralf Spatzier **Education and Course Oversight Committee** Associate Chair for Education (Chair) Associate Chair for Graduate Studies **Doctoral Chair** AIM Director Undergraduate Program Director Area Leaders (Consultants) **Executive Committee Department Chair (Chair)** Chief Administrator, Consultant Erhan Bayraktar (2023-24, 2024-25) Trace Jackson (2023-24, 2024-25) Gavin LaRose (2022-23, 2023-24) Peter Miller (2023-24, 2024-25) Andrew Snowden (2022-23, 2023-24) Jenny Wilson (2023-24) Faculty Secretary: Executive Assistant **Historian:** Lizhen Ji (Chair) **Bob Griess IBL Committee Ralf Spatzier (Chair and Director)** Hy Bass Nina White Department Chair (Consultant) K-12 Outreach Sarah Koch (Chair) Stephen DeBacker **Bob Griess** Martin Strauss Nina White Jenny Wilson

## Lecturer Evaluation and Hiring Committee Gavin LaRose (Chair) Department Chair Associate Chair for Education Associate Chair for Regular Faculty Undergraduate Program Director

### Long Range Planning Committee (LRPC)

Department Chair Ralf Spatzier (2024) Alexander Barvinok (2025) Sarah Koch (2026) Kartik Prasanna (2027) Sergey Fomin (2028)

## Marshals Roger Natarajan

Math Corps Sarah Koch Stephen DeBacker

### MCAIM Director: Danny Forger

Michigan Mathematical Journal: Mircea Mustață, Editor Suzanne Rogers

### **MMSS Oversight Committee**

Department Chair Chief Administrator Stephen DeBacker Mark Conger

### Nominations Officer - Sasha Barvinok

### **Ombuds Committee**

Climate Deputy Jinho Baik (F) Graduate Student (TBD) Math Librarian (Sam Hanson) Math Staff (Jess Randolph) Postdoc (TBD) Linh Truong Undergraduate Student (TBD) Nina White Jenny Young

## Personnel Committee

Ralf Spatzier (Chair) Department Chair Associate Chair for Regular Faculty Appointments Dmitry Chelkak (as of Nov. 1, 2023) Sarah Koch Zaher Hani Shravan Veerapaneni Alex Wright Associate Chair for Graduate Studies: Sergey Fomin

Director of Graduate Admissions: Jinho Baik

Doctoral Chair: Andrew Snowden

AIM Director: Silas Alben

## Admissions & Fellowships, Math Ph.D.

Director of Graduate Admissions (Chair) Erhan Bayraktar Sasha Barvinok Dimtry Chelkak Igor Kriz Jeff Lagarias Thomas Lam Mircea Mustaţă Sarah Peluse Alex Wright

### AIM QR

AIM Director (Chair) Martin Strauss Divakar Viswanath

## Doctoral Committee

Doctoral Chair (Chair) AlM Director Liliana Borcea Charlotte Chan Alex Perry (F) David Speyer (W) Alejandro Uribe (W) Jenny Wilson Sijue Wu (F)

## **Ethics Course**

Associate Chair for Education Dan Burns Danny Forger Lizhen Ji Smadar Karni

## Masters Advising Committee Divakar Viswanath (Chair)

AIM Director Jenny Young (Actuarial)

Erhan Bayraktar **QR** Exams Algebra: Thomas Lam Alex Perrv Analysis: **Dave Barrett Dimtry Chelkak** Geometry/Topology: Alejandro Uribe Jenny Wilson Applied: Liliana Borcea Selim Esedoglu AIM Admissions & Fellowships Committee, Ph.D. AIM Director (Chair) Lydia Bieri (W) Ibrahim Ekren Selim Esedoglu **Robert Krasny** Peter Miller **MLB Scholars Steering Committee** Trachette Jackson (Chair) **Department Chair Director of Graduate Admissions** AIM Director David Speyer (W) **Masters Admissions** Masters Committee Chair AIM Director **Director of Graduate Admission Rackham Faculty Ally** Dan Burns Jenny Wilson

**Masters in Quantitative Finance Director:** 

Associate Chair for Education: Kristen Moore

- Undergraduate Program Director: Hanna Bennett
- Introductory Program Director: Gavin LaRose
- Math Lab Director: Irina Arakelian
- Actuarial Program Director: Roger Natarajan
- Actuarial Club Advisor: Roger Natarajan
- Financial Math Club Advisor: Ibrahim Ekren
- Grader Assignments: Divakar Viswanath

### Undergraduate Scholarships & Awards David Speyer (Chair)

Associate Chair for Education Actuarial Director (consultant) Bob Griess Lizhen Ji Kartik Prasanna Alejandro Uribe Divakar Viswanath

### **Introductory Program**

Course Responsibility: 105, 115, 116, 156, 215, 216 – Introductory Program Director 185-286, 295-396 – Honors Committee

### **Course Coordinators**

105 – Nina White 115 – Scott Schneider 116 – Robert Cochrane 156 – Robert Krasny 214 – Kartik Prasanna 215 – Jeff Dunworth 216 – Selim Esedoglu 217 – Michael Weiss

### Junior/Senior

### Honors Committee

Tasho Kaletha (Chair) Dave Barrett Kartik Prasanna Linh Truong

### Putnam Competition/Undergrad Math Competition Aaron Pixton (Chair) Jeff Lagarias

### **Transfer Credit Evaluation Committee**

Introductory Program Director Undergraduate Program Director Actuarial Program Director Robert Cochrane Paul Kessenich Angela Kubena Scott Schneider

### Undergraduate Counseling

David Barrett Hanna Bennett Mark Conger **Bob Griess** Paul Kessenich **Robert Krasny** Angela Kubena (W) **Roger Natarajan** Aaron Pixton Scott Schneider (W) Martin Strauss (F) Alejandro Uribe Divakar Viswanath Nina White Beth Wolf Jenny Young Michael Zieve (F)

## Undergraduate Research Committee (REU) Tasho Kaletha (Chair) Danny Forger Linh Truong

### Undergraduate Math Club Advisors Sarah Koch (Chair) Jeff Lagarias