

- HISTORY

Program



Welcome
Joshua H. Cole
Interim Department Chair
Professor of History



Opening Remarks
Sueann Caulfield
Interim Director of Graduate Studies
Professor of History

2024 Arthur Fondiler Dissertation Prize

Salem Elzway (History)

Arms of the State: A History of the Industrial Robot in Postwar America

Committee: Matthew Lassiter (chair), John Carson, Paul N. Edwards,

Joy Rohde (cognate)

Recognition of Graduates and Individual Remarks

Andy Rafael Aguilera (History)

In the Shadow of Mexico: Mexican and Mexican American Conservatives During the Eras of U.S. Conquest and the Mexican Revolution, 1848-1940

Committee: Anthony P. Mora (chair), Stephen A. Berrey, Victoria Langland, Alexandra Minna Stern, William Calvo-Quirós (cognate)

Haley E. Bowen (History)

Breaching the Cloister: Laywomen, Convents, and the State in the Early Modern French Empire

Committee: Dena Goodman (co-chair), Helmut Puff (co-chair), Kenneth Mills, George Hoffman (cognate)

Salem Elzway (History)

Arms of the State: A History of the Industrial Robot in Postwar America

Committee: Matthew Lassiter (chair), John Carson, Paul N. Edwards,

Joy Rohde (cognate)

David Helps (History)

Securing the World City: Policing, Migration, and the Struggle for Global Los Angeles, 1973-1994

Committee: Matthew Lassiter (chair), Matthew Countryman, Heather Ann Thompson, Melissa Borja, Melissa Burch (cognate)

Alexander J. McConnell (History)

A Humanism of Hatred, a Humanism of the Heart: Political Language, Public Morality, and Socialist Personhood in the Soviet Union Committee: Ronald J. Suny (chair), Geoff Eley, Valerie A. Kivelson, Douglas Northrop, Olga Maiorova (cognate)

Nicole Navarro (History)

The Forgotten Latino Community: Racial Formation and the Struggle for Political Representation in Washington, D.C., 1970-1993 Committee: Matthew Lassiter (chair), Matthew Countryman, Jesse Hoffnung-Garskof, Heather Ann Thompson, William D. Lopez (cognate)

Shai Zamir (History)

Friendship and Alternative Kinship in the Early Modern Iberian World Committee: Helmut Puff (co-chair), Ryan Szpiech (co-chair), Katherine French, Kenneth Mills, Enrique García Santo-Tomás (cognate)

