2021 History Undergraduate Commencement



We invite you to join the **virtual commencement celebration** of this year's graduating History majors, the class of 2021. This year's celebration will take place at **3 PM, April 30, 2021**, via Zoom. A recording of the event will be available on this page the following week.

The History Undergraduate Commencement is open to History students, friends, family, and History faculty and staff. Please message **elizabac@umich.edu** for registration information.

Link here to visit the 2021 History Honors Symposium webpage.

Commencement Program

Welcome



Stephen A. Berrey Associate Professor of History and American Culture Director of Undergraduate Studies





Opening Remarks



James W. Cook

History Department Chair Professor of History and American Studies

Student Speaker



Chase Glasser Class of 2021

Undergraduate Teaching Award

Presented by Stephen A. Berrey

Undergraduate Award for Leadership and Service

Presented by Kate Wroblewski

Student Speaker



Kelly O'Donnell Class of 2021

Keynote Address: The Past, the Present, and the Pandemic



Martin S. Pernick

Professor Emeritus

Martin S. Pernick studies the history of value issues in medicine and the historical connections between medicine and mass culture. He joined U-M in 1979. Among his numerous publications are two books: *A Calculus of Suffering: Pain, Professionalism, and Anesthesia in Nineteenth-Century America* (1985) and *The Black Stork: Eugenics and the Death of "Defective" Babies in American Medicine and Motion Pictures Since* 1915 (1996).

Recognition of Graduates

Presented by:



Christian de Pee Associate Professor of History



Jennifer Dominique Jones Assistant Professor of History and Women's & Gender Studies



Kenneth Mills

J. Frederick Hoffman Professor of History



Melanie Tanielian Associate Professor of History

Special Congratulatory Message from the History Department

Student Speaker



Barbara Mellace Class of 2021

University of Michigan Department of History Class of 2021

(Students graduating Fall 2020-Summer 2021)

Charlotte Louise Abrams Bryce C. Akins Katelyn Albrecht Amir Kasim Ali **Basil Alsubee** Marcelle Angeles Bridget Tukey Triggs Anscombe Jack R. Beckman Timothy A. Bennett Grace Bergeron Nathan Berman Mikayla Bird Robert D. Bjerke Elise Nicole Borbely Tessa Bradley Daniel Brennan Mason T. Brudzinski Liesa Bruin Joseph Bugaj Brandon Burkhardt Whitney M. Burkit Katherine Burney Isabella Buzynski Jocelyne Campos Ana Cecilia Carreto Cardona **Rece Carter** Miranda Chambers Vincent Michael Chandler John Chase Yi Chen **Brooke Christians** Anthony Cichocki Teresa Clark John Cobau **Eve Cornelius** Haleigh Cotton

Alison Cromer Bradley Cronk Jacob Dale John Davidson Sanjay Day Cory Dubin Lauren Dunbeck Benjamin Elbaum Joseph Emrick Jr. William Fitzharris Scott C. Flake Calvin Frifeldt Audrey Gao Noah Garfinkel Alexander Gavulic David Lee Gerding II Dustin Gladstone Chase Glasser Madeleine Glasser Gabriela Glueck Hailey Glushyn Cari Griffin Nicholas Henderlong Adrian Huntley James Hutchins IV Kevin Hutkowski Aparna Ramanan Iyer Audrey Jacobsen Paul Jakobson Sophia Jaskoski Emilia Jonic Kelly C. Kacan William Kelly Isabelle Kenhard Hope Kennedy Nisreen Khokhar

Christopher Kovacs Brandon Lanesey **Riley Langefeld** Greta Anne Leader Max Lee Silas C. Lee Jonathan Lelo Evan Mathew Locey Maria Louise LoCicero **Jillian Luciow** Frances Mackethan **Caroline Martin Barbara Mellace** Eliana Metni Taylor Mikkelson Benjamin Mikula Georgia Minkoff Abigail Jean Miya Rachel Moloney Donald Molosky Jr. Justin T. Murphy Shannon Murphy Aviva S. Nemeth Henry Newman Alayna Nugent Kelly Erin O'Donnell Liam O'Toole Jacob Pasche Brian Davis Paul Sarah Payne Tyrone Larue Pettygrue Audrey M. Pierce Marissa Pruitt Philip Rapoport Kyungsook Ri Adam Rich

Sabine Rundlet Jasmine Sadeghi Estrella Salgado Anya Satyawadi Laura E. Scerbak Caroline Schneider Jason Semaya **Dillon Shain** Aashika Shetty Grace Shulman Julia Sage Sherman Silverman Nagarjun Singaram Conor T. Smith Gideon G. Sochay Sofia Spencer Laura Stahl James Stinnett Sarah Elizabeth Sukal Jacob Randolph Talbot Austin Teholiz Tanushri Thakur Victoria Thede Marissa Thomas Alexandra Tretyakova Anna Vanneste Zachary Vega Jaclyn Wachs Andrew Warrick Marissa Weiner

Justin Weiss Molly Elizabeth-Anne Wilson Eric Wroldsen Xinyun Wu Makayla Wyly Zhi Xin Isabella Grace Young