Department of
Slavic
Languages &
Literatures

Class of 2020



University of Michigan Department of Slavic Languages & Literatures

Class of 2020

Welcome

Herbert Eagle - Department Chair, Professor

Essay Awards

Presented by Michael Makin, Russian Undergraduate Advisor, Professor

Excellence in Language Awards

Polish - presented by Piotr Westwalewicz, Polish Undergraduate Advisor, Lecturer

Czech - presented by Ewa Pasek, Lecturer, Czech and Polish

Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian - presented by Marija Rosic, Lecturer,
Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian

Russian and Ukrainian - presented by Svitlana Rogovyk, Ukrainian Undergraduate Advisor, Slavic Language Program Director, Lecturer

Recognition of Graduates

Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian Minors

Polish Major and Minors

Ukrainian Minors

Russian Majors and Minors

Conclusion

Herbert Eagle - Department Chair, Professor

SLAVIC DEPARTMENT UNDERGRADUATE AWARDS AND NOMINATIONS 2020

Best paper in a student's native language:

Alexa Zielinski, (Slavic 312, Herb Eagle) "The Master's Tools"

Honorable mentions:

Aria Gerson, (Russian 333, Michael Makin)
"Sport as Ideological Competition in the Early Soviet Period"

Alexandra Pejas, (Slavic 470, Benjamin Paloff) "The Role of the Body in What It Means 'To Be'"

Best written work in a language studied in the Slavic Department:

Kirena Dillon, (Russian 302, Nina Shkol'nik) "Muzyka i obshchestvo: golosa epokhi" (Music and society: voices of the age)

Honorable mentions:

Alexis Ball, (Russian 302, Nina Shkol'nik)
"Effekt fil'mov na obshchestvo" (The Effect of Films on Society)

Laine Boitos, (Russian 201, Michael Martin) "Kto moi geroi?" (Who is my Hero?)

Alexandre Desrez, (Russian 201, Michael Martin) "Nuzhna li poeziya" (Do we need Poetry?),

Isabelle Kong, (Russian 402, Nina Shkol'nik)

"Komu, za chto i kakoi pamyatnik mne khotelos' by postavit' v gorode, gde ya zhivu" (What sort of memorial, to whom and for what reason, would I like to see erected in the town where I live)

Best special project:

Ben Bronkema-Bekker, (RC Languages 323, Alina Makin) Translation into English and Scholarly Analysis in Russian of the folk tale "Emelya the Fool"

Departmental Awards

Excellence in Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian Language Studies Award
Bridget Grabowski

Excellence in Czech Language Studies Award
Edie Lerner and Madylin Eberstein

Excellence in Polish Language Studies Award
Kami Ziolkowski

Excellence in Russian Language Studies Award
Alexis Ann Ball

Excellence in Ukrainian Language Studies Award
Mary Sirois

Russian Book Award Winners

Antonine Andrukh

Ethan John Finn

Noah Douglas West

Emma Krause

Cynthia Zhao

Troy McAllister

Russian Majors

Nyeri Adolphus Hannah Parton
Anna Chudov Ivona Popova
Noah Dobos Charles Rinderle
Isabelle Kong Theodore Root

Arthur Mengozzi

Russian Language, Literature & Culture Minors

Patrick Ahimovic

Alexis Ball

Kinsey Johnson

Michael Krivichkin

Parker Sovereign

Lindsey Waldie

Owen Webb

Courtney Weigal

Brooke Lennox Austin Wutt Zachary Shulkin

Polish Major

Emily Lerner

Polish Minors

Erik Gamm Chayne Rimkus Shannon Maaa

Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian Language, Literature & Culture Minors

Azra Dedic Nejla Harba

Ukrainian Minors

Solomiya Nysak Charles Rinderle