Neuroscience Independent Study & Research Sponsor List



Undergraduate Program in Neuroscience

L: 1140 Undergrad. Science Bldg. (USB)
L: http://www.lsa.umich.edu/neurosci
Isa-biology-advising@umich.edu
T34-763-7984

We encourage neuroscience students to include independent research as part of the major.

- The person whose lab you work in is your sponsor. If you work with a faculty member in any Department other than MCDB or Psychology, you need a co-sponsor from the Neuroscience Sponsors list below to be able to enroll in a course that will let you count your research as part of your major.
- You may register for research for multiple semesters. The first semester meets the D2 lab requirement. In subsequent semesters, consult with your sponsor or co-sponsor to decide on the appropriate course number.
- If you are completing an honors or non-honors thesis, you must complete two terms of research for credit. Typically, NEURO 360 and 460 or PSYCH 426 and 428.
- In the term you complete a thesis, you must register for NEURO 461 or PSYCH 428. Both courses count for ULWR.

Research Area	Eligible Sponsors	Eligible Co-Sponsors	Course Number to register for in your first term of research	Continuing Research
Behavioral or cognitive neuroscience	Any U of M Faculty member with appropriate expertise	Psychology faculty members on the Neuroscience sponsors list	PSYCH 326, 331 or NEURO 360	PSYCH 422 or NEURO 460
Cellular, Molecular or Sensory neuroscience	Any U of M Faculty member with appropriate expertise	MCDB faculty members on the Neuroscience sponsors list	NEURO 360	NEURO 460
Non-neuroscience areas of molecular, cellular, or developmental biology [<u>Research in these areas may be used</u> <u>as a lab in the major, but is not eligible</u> <u>as the topic of a senior thesis]</u>	Any U of M Faculty member with appropriate expertise	Any faculty member in MCDB with the title of Assistant Professor, Associate Professor or Professor.	MCDB 300	MCDB 400

Faculty eligible to sponsor or co-sponsor in PSYCH or NEURO:

Omar Ahmed	Benjamin Dantzer	Ethan Kross	Gideon Rothschild
Brandon Aragona	Ada Eban-Rothschild	Taraz Lee	Priti Shah
Jill Becker	Carrie Ferrario	Richard Lewis	Kristina Smiley
Jacinta Beehner	Ashley Gearhardt	Cindy Lustig	Natalie Tronson
Adriene Beltz	Richard Gonzalez	Christopher Monk	Daniel Weissman
Thore Bergman	Luke Hyde	Thad Polk	Laura Zahodne
Kent Berridge	John Jonides	Stephanie Preston	Jun Zhang
David Brang	Shinobu Kitayama	Patricia Reuter-Lorenz	
Jennifer Cummings	Ioulia Kovelman	Alexandra Rosati	

Faculty eligible to sponsor or co-sponsor in MCDB or NEURO:

Mohammed Akaaboune Sara Aton Laura Buttitta Josie Clowney Morgan DeSantis Wanlu Du Bo Duan Cunming Duan Monica Dus Sarah Kargbo-Hill Paul Kramer Tzumin Lee Kwoon Wong Bing Ye

Additional Thesis Sponsors:

Shelly Flagel Megan Hagenauer