DEPARTMENT OF MIDDLE EAST STUDIES

Elass of 2020



Awards

THE GEORGE G. CAMERON AWARD IN NEAR EASTERN STUDIES

Recipient: Helen Woolcock

This award was established in honor of George G. Cameron, a scholar of ancient philology and history, and the "founding father" of the Department of Near Eastern Studies. He served as department chair from the department's inception in February 1949 to June 1969. This award recognizes a graduating senior in Middle East Studies with an academic record of excellence within the program.

THE HAJJA RAZIA SHARIF SHEIKH SCHOLARSHIP IN ISLAMIC STUDIES

Recipient: Nour Ali

This award was established to honor the memory of Hajja Razia Sharif Sheikh, the mother of a Southeast Michigan Islamic community member. This annual award recognizes undergraduate students who have written an exceptional essay for a Middle East Studies Islamic studies course in the previous Winter, Spring, Summer, or Fall terms.

THE RAJI RAMMUNY AWARD FOR TEACHING ARABIC AS A FOREIGN LANGUAGE

Recipient: Ahmed Farahat

This award recognizes a graduate student who has shown excellence in the field of teaching Arabic as a foreign language. Recipients are students who have performed above and beyond the norm in both their academic and professional pursuits.

THE NATHAN D. METZGER AWARD

Recipient: Drew Tarnopol

The Nathan D. Metzger award was established in 1939 by Ruth R. Metzger of Detroit to honor the memory of her husband. The award recognizes a student for excellence in writing in post-Biblical Jewish history, literature, or philosophy. The award provides a monetary prize.

The Shuckran Kamal and Julia Segall-Derfler Memorial Award

Recipient: Shon Harris

This award celebrates the lives of Shuckran Kamal and Julia Segall-Derfler and the special relationship they formed as mentor and mentee working at the U.S. State Department. Both Shuckran and Julia were dedicated to the fields of language and translation, pursuing lives that valued the diversity of human culture and promoted understanding among peoples of the world. This annual award recognizes one exceptional student in either Arabic or Hebrew language who has shown a commitment to language study and an interest in translation.

GRADUATES

Doctoral Graduates

Adrianne Spunaugle Michail Kitsos

Masters Graduates

Salma Al-Midani Kamal Gasimov Ahmed Farahat Nasr Abdo Jacob Granzow Meghan Hough Theresa Peters

Bachelors Graduates

Hassan Faraj Janavi Goldblum William Hearn Manuel Melendez Nicole Millar Gabrielle Sines* Helen Woolcock Peter Yousif Zoya Zalatimo

^{*} Graduating with Honors